Tags

Image result for 2016 oscar nominees collage

Now that I’ve reviewed all the Best Picture nominees, with the exception of Moonlight, I thought I’d rank them to give a clearer picture of my regard for each of them. As I said in my La La Land post, 2016 has produced one of the best crops of awards contenders in a while, most of which have earned a spot on my Top 365 list. While I haven’t seen the actual Best Picture winner, I’m still convinced that La La Land should have won, even though most of the others would have been worthy of winning in a weaker year. So here they are again in order:

Moonlight – not seen

8.  Manchester By the Sea

7.  Hell or High Water

6.  Fences

5.  Lion

4.  Arrival

3.  Hidden Figures

2.  Hacksaw Ridge

1.  La La Land

 

And although my third blogiversary post listed my favorite newly watched films last year, here’s also a Top Twelve list of my favorite films of 2016 overall, just to put the previous ranking in perspective. I still haven’t seen nearly as many as a lot of bloggers, including ones of interest like Passengers, Moana, The Red Turtle, Queen of Katwe, and A Monster Calls, but this is the first year that I feel I’ve seen enough to warrant a list like this. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else with this particular ranking, so at least I know this list is all my own. Thus, here’s my countdown of all the films I enjoyed or would recommend from 2016, from least to best. I hope 2017 will be just as good or better!

First, the Runners-Up:

Midnight Special

Miracles from Heaven

X-Men: Apocalypse

Race

The Young Messiah

Image result for the young messiah film

Hell or High Water

The Jungle Book

Hunt for the Wilderpeople

10 Cloverfield Lane

Kung Fu Panda 3

Sing Street

Image result for sing street film

Fences

Life, Animated

Kubo and the Two Strings

Finding Dory

 

12.  Doctor Strange

Image result for doctor strange film

 

11.  Star Trek Beyond

Image result for star trek beyond film

 

10.  Lion

Image result for lion film

 

9.  Eddie the Eagle

Image result for eddie the eagle film

 

8.  Arrival

Image result for arrival film

 

7.  Your Name

Image result for your namefilm taki mitsuha

 

6.  Hidden Figures

Image result for hidden figures film

 

5.  Hacksaw Ridge

Image result for hacksaw ridge film

 

4.  Zootopia

Image result for zootopia film

 

3.  Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Image result for rogue one film

 

2.  Captain America: Civil War

Image result for captain america civil war film

 

1.  La La Land

Image result for la la landfilm

 

 

